Search This Website

Saturday 11 September 2021

Rescue organizations of the country by Prajaswa Academy PDF Download 2021

Rescue organizations of the country by Prajaswa Academy PDF Download 2021

The National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) is an Indian specialized force constituted "for the purpose of special response to a threatening disaster situation or disaster" under the Disaster Management Act, 2005. The "Apex Body for Disaster Management" in India is the National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA). The Chairman of the NDMA is the Prime Minister.

The responsibility of managing disasters in India is that of the State Government. The ‘Nodal Ministry’ in the central government for management of natural disasters is the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA).

When 'calamities of severe nature' occur, the Central Government is responsible for providing aid and assistance to the affected state, including deploying, at the State's request, of Armed Forces, Central Paramilitary Forces, National Disaster Response Force (NDRF), and such communication, air and other assets, as are available and needed.

National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) is under the National Disaster Management Authority. The head of the NDRF is designated as Director General. The Director Generals of NDRF are IPS officers on deputation from Indian police organisations. Director General is a three-star officer.

The NDRF is a top-heavy organisation which in addition to the Director General has several Inspector Generals (IG) and Deputy IGs, who are flag officers and wear badges of rank.

⇻PDF Details⇺
➧ PDF Name: Rescue organizations of the country by Prajaswa Academy PDF

|| Important Links To Download ||

Rescue organizations of the country by Prajaswa Academy


National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) is a force of 12 battalions, organised on para-military lines, and manned by persons on deputation from the para-military forces of India: three Border Security Force, three Central Reserve Police Force, two Central Industrial Security Force, two Indo-Tibetan Border Police and two Sashastra Seema Bal. The total strength of each battalion is approximately 1149. Each battalion is capable of providing 18 self-contained specialist search and rescue teams of 45 personnel each including engineers, technicians, electricians, dog squads and medical/paramedics.

Major Disasters in India (1980–2009)

These NDRF battalions are located at twelve different locations in the country based on the vulnerability profile to cut down the response time for their deployment. During the preparedness period/in a threatening disaster situation, proactive deployment of these forces will be carried out by the NDMA in consultation with state authorities. The present location of NDRF Battalions are as follows:

S. No.NDRF UnitStateCPF
1 01 Bn NDRF, Guwahati Assam BSF
2 02 Bn NDRF, Kolkata West Bengal BSF
3 03 Bn NDRF, Cuttack Odisha CISF
4 04 Bn NDRF, Arakkonam Tamil Nadu CISF
5 05 Bn NDRF, Pune Maharashtra CRPF
6 06 Bn NDRF, Gandhinagar Gujarat CRPF
7 07 Bn NDRF, Bhatinda Punjab ITBP
8 08 Bn NDRF, Ghaziabad Uttar Pradesh ITBP
9 09 Bn NDRF, Patna Bihar BSF
10 10 Bn NDRF, Vijayawada Andhra Pradesh CRPF
11 11 Bn NDRF, Varanasi Uttar Pradesh SSB
12 12 Bn NDRF, Itanagar Arunachal Pradesh